Lifestyle Parenting

9 Values Of Goddess Durga To Empower Your Girl Child

Navratra is a festival that is celebrated with immense joy and fervour throughout India. It is a time to celebrate the victory of good over evil and honour the divine feminine energy that surrounds us.

This festival is dedicated to the nine avatars of Goddess Durga, who is also known as Navdurga.

People come together to pray, dance, and offer gratitude to the goddess for her blessings and protection. The festival fills our hearts with joy and reminds us of the power of faith, devotion, and the triumph of righteousness.

Goddess Durga is not just a divine figure, but also a symbol of strength and empowerment. Each of her 9 avatars of goddess Durga represents a unique quality that can be induced in children, especially girls, to help them become confident and strong individuals.

These values include courage, compassion, perseverance, and wisdom, which are essential qualities for building a fulfilling and successful life.

So, let’s inspire our children to embody the spirit of Durga and grow into empowered individuals who can face any challenge with grace and resilience.

1. Shailaputri – The Power of Resilience


Shailaputri, the daughter of the mountains is the first avatar. She represents resilience, strength, and determination. Every parent needs to encourage their girls to cultivate a resilient spirit, face challenges with courage and determination, and keep moving forward, no matter how tough the journey may be. It is essential to teach them that setbacks and failures are part of the journey to success and to embrace them with a positive mindset.

2. Brahmacharini – The Power of Focus


Read more:

The second avatar of Durga is Brahmacharini, the one who practises brahmacharya. She represents the power of focus, discipline, and determination. Teaching our girls the value of focus and discipline will help them set goals, work hard towards them, and achieve their dreams. It is essential to teach them to prioritise their time and energy towards their goals, avoiding distractions and procrastination.

3. Chandraghanta – The Power of Balance


The third avatar is Chandraghanta, the one with a half-moon on her forehead. She represents balance, harmony, and grace. Teaching our girls the value of balance in all aspects of life – personal, social, and academic – will help them maintain a healthy lifestyle and a positive outlook. It is essential to encourage them to pursue their passions while maintaining a healthy work-life balance.

4. Kushmanda – The Power of Creativity


Kushmanda is fourth among the 9 avatars of goddess Durga, the one who created the universe. She represents creativity, fertility, and abundance. Teaching our girls to embrace their creativity will help them think outside the box, innovate, and express themselves freely. It is essential to provide them with opportunities to explore their artistic abilities and to appreciate the beauty and diversity of art.

5. Skandamata – The Power of Nurturing


The fifth avatar of Durga is Skandamata, the mother of Skanda (Lord Kartikeya). She represents nurturing, love, and motherhood. Teaching our girls to be nurturing and caring towards others will help them develop empathy, compassion, and emotional intelligence. It is essential to encourage them to practise kindness, respect, and gratitude towards others.

6. Katyayani – The Power of Self-Confidence


Read more:

Katyayani, the daughter of Sage Katyayana is the sixth devi avatar. She represents self-confidence, courage, and self-esteem. Teaching our girls to believe in themselves, trust their abilities and be proud of their uniqueness will help them develop a positive self-image and a sense of self-worth. It is essential to encourage them to speak up, express their opinions, and assert themselves when needed.

7. Kalaratri – The Power of Fearlessness


Goddess Durga is Kalaratri in her seventh avatar, the dark and fierce one. She represents fearlessness, strength, and courage. Teaching our girls to be fearless, to face their fears with courage, and to stand up for themselves will help them develop resilient and strong personalities. It is essential to teach them that fear is natural and that it is okay to feel afraid but not to let fear control their actions.

8. Mahagauri – The Power of Purity


The eighth avatar of Durga is Mahagauri, the one who is pure and white. She represents purity, innocence, and peace. Teaching our girls the value of purity in thought, word, and action will help them develop a strong moral compass, a sense of integrity, and a peaceful mind. Encouraging them to cultivate virtues such as honesty, compassion, and forgiveness is essential.

9. Siddhidatri – The Power of Enlightenment


Siddhidatri, the one who grants spiritual enlightenment is the ninth avatar. She represents knowledge, wisdom, and spiritual growth. Teaching our girls the value of knowledge, learning, and spirituality will help them develop a curious and open-minded attitude towards life. It is essential to encourage them to read, explore, and learn about different cultures, religions, and philosophies.


The 9 values of the Goddess Durga offer a comprehensive guide for empowering every girl child.

By inspiring these values in our children, we can help them develop into strong, confident, and compassionate individuals who can make a positive difference in the world.

By teaching our children the values symbolised by 9 avatars of Goddess Durga, we can help them develop a strong sense of self and a deep connection with their inner strength.

As parents, it is our responsibility to nurture their physical, mental, and spiritual well-being and to inspire them to reach their full potential.

Let us celebrate the spirit of Navratri by honouring the divine feminine and empowering our girls to shine bright like Goddess Durga.