9 Values Of Goddess Durga To Empower Your Girl


Navratri, the che­rished Indian festival, holds a spot in our hearts and beliefs. Every year, folks from all over the nation celebrate by honouring 9 avatars of Durga.

This festival sparks such energy and buzz in people! Trust me, it’s truly something to see. Based on the beliefs and divine power of the goddess Durga, everyone unites in prayer and celebration for her nine forms.

It’s like a beautiful nudge toward the strength hidden in our morals and spirituality. Each of the nine avatars of Durga conveys different traits. Especially for the daughters! Some things can be derived from every form of maa (goddess) Durga to help our girls develop into confident, strong individuals.

These qualities—courage, compassion, perseverance, and wisdom—are necessary for living an abundant and prosperous life.

Let’s teach our children to be strong and resilient so they can face difficulties with grace, embodying the spirit of Durga.

Be intrigued when we explore those powers here together:

1. Shailaputri – The Power of Resilience


Shailaputri, the daughter of the mountains, is the first avatar among the nine avatars of Durga. She represents resilience, strength, and determination.

Every parent needs to encourage their girls to cultivate a resilient spirit, face challenges with courage and determination, and keep moving forward, no matter how difficult the journey may be.

It is essential to teach them that setbacks and failures are part of the journey to success and to embrace them with a positive mindset.

2. Brahmacharini – The Power of Focus


Read more: https://www.beingmomandmore.com/11-navratri-vrat-recipes-2023/

The second avatar of Durga is Brahmacharini, the one who practices Brahmacharya. She represents the power of focus, discipline, and determination.

Teaching our girls the value of focus and discipline will help them set goals, work hard towards them, and achieve their dreams. It is essential to teach them to prioritise their time and energy towards their goals, avoiding distractions and procrastination.

3. Chandraghanta – The Power of Balance


The third avatar is Chandraghanta, the one with a half-moon on her forehead. She represents balance, harmony, and grace.

Teaching our girls the value of balance in all aspects of life – personal, social, and academic – will help them maintain a healthy lifestyle and a positive outlook. For us parents, encouraging them to pursue their passions while maintaining a healthy work-life balance is essential.

4. Kushmanda – The Power of Creativity


Kushmanda is fourth among the 9 avatars of Durga, the one who created the universe. She represents creativity, fertility, and abundance.

Teaching our girls to embrace creativity will help them think outside the box, innovate, and express themselves freely. It is essential to provide them with opportunities to explore their artistic abilities and appreciate the beauty and diversity of art.

5. Skandamata – The Power of Nurturing


Skandamata, the mother of Skanda (Lord Kartikeya), is the fifth avatar of Navdurga. This powerful Durga avatar symbolises motherhood, love, and nurturing.

Teaching our daughters nurturing and caring empowers them with empathy, kindness, and emotional intelligence that will develop them while they learn to be gentle and kind to others.

6. Katyayani – The Power of Self-Confidence


Read more: https://www.beingmomandmore.com/21-interesting-questions-answered-for-navratri/

Katyayani (Daughter of Katyayana Sage) is the sixth devi avatar. She represents self-confidence, courage, and self-esteem.

It builds a healthy self-image and confidence in our girls if we teach them to believe in themselves, trust their capacities, and embrace their uniqueness. We must empower them with the liberty to speak up, express their opinions, and fearlessly stand up for themselves when required.

7. Kalaratri – The Power of Fearlessness


Goddess Durga is Kalaratri in her seventh avatar, the dark and fierce one. She represents fearlessness, strength, and courage which shows us the power of Durga.

Teaching our girls to be fearless, to face their fears with courage, and to stand up for themselves will help them develop resilient and strong personalities. It is essential to teach them that fear is natural; it is okay to feel afraid. However, don’t let fear control their actions.

8. Mahagauri – The Power of Purity


The eighth avatar of Durga is Mahagauri, who is pure and white. She represents purity, innocence, and peace.

Teaching our girls the value of purity in thought, word, and action will help them develop a solid moral compass, a sense of integrity, and a peaceful mind. Encouraging them to cultivate values, including honesty, compassion, and forgiveness, is essential.

9. Siddhidatri – The Power of Enlightenment


Siddhidatri, an avatar who grants spiritual enlightenment, is the ninth one among the 9 Avatars of Durga. She represents knowledge, wisdom, and spiritual growth.

Teaching our girls the value of knowledge, learning, and spirituality will help them develop a curious and open-minded attitude toward life. Encouraging our girls to read, explore, and learn about different cultures, religions, and philosophies is essential.


  • The nine values of the Goddess Durga discussed symbolise and offer a comprehensive guide for empowering every girl child.
  • By incorporating these values in our children, we can help them develop into strong, confident, and compassionate individuals who can make a positive difference in the world.
  • We can help them develop a strong sense of self and a deep connection with their inner strength by teaching our children the values these avatars of Durga hold.
  • As parents, we must support our children’s physical, mental, and spiritual growth and help them realise their potential.

Let us celebrate the spirit of Navratri by honouring the divine feminine and empowering our girls to shine bright like Goddess Durga, embodying the nine forms of Durga and their significance, in our lives this Navratri.


2 replies on “9 Values Of Goddess Durga To Empower Your Girl”

The sacrifices that she made is just inspirational. Thanks for sharing this informational and knowledgeable post ❤

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Being Mom & More

Parul Garg
Parul Garg

Welcome all the lovely ladies and especially those generous men who may have landed here looking for some solution or ideas or any sort of info to help their better-halves. Read More…

share your experience